About Us

INSPIRING CREATIVITY & Imagination


The Avenue Road Arts School has been inspiring creativity since 1993. The school has become a leader in arts education. Since its opening, ARAS has become a recognized and trusted school in providing high quality art classes. Whether in person or virtually, students know that they will receive the best in art training, with a warm and supportive approach. There is a large roster of classes for children and adults, novice to experienced and those looking to exercise their creativity. Programs are offered year-round (fall, winter, spring, summer) and we offer popular programs for March break, summer camps, parties and specialty school workshops.

All programs are taught by professional artist/educators, who have a passion for their art practice, as well as plenty of teaching experience. Small class sizes allow for plenty of individual attention.


25 Years of Excellence
in Arts Education

In 2018, we celebrated 25 years of excellence in arts education! To commemorate this milestone, we interviewed 25 of our former and current students, and heard about the ways in which our School impacted their lives and creative journeys.

Image

“My drawing class, for me, is what I imagine meditation is like for other people.

The class begins and your brain immediately takes you to another place, a zen-like space that’s deeply relaxing, removed from anywhere you’ve been before. What feels like moments later, the class is over and you return home in a new state of calm. It’s a feeling you want to hang onto. Magical.”

- Leslie M., Toronto, ON, Student in Drawing for the Terrified (Online Spring)

“The school is doing a great job - I am super impressed with how the class is run and the teaching. She is excellent with the children, explaining and illustrating different techniques or concepts, and always ensuring that everyone feels included with showing their artwork (even when they are deep in the process- too deep to chat). My daughter has been interested in all the chosen pieces you work on each week.

She not only enjoys [her class] but I see her learning.”

- Carla F., Toronto, ON, Parent of student in Painting & Mixed Media (Online Spring)

"What a quality class! - well structured, with substance, showing thoughtfulness & knowledge. [T]he teacher encourages, nudges us & gives warm, pertinent comments on each of our work. Fantastic!

- Jill P., Glasgow, UK, Student in Transforming Words into Art (Online Spring)

Our Staff


Lola RasminskyFounding Director
lola@avenueroadartsschool.com

Liana Del MastroExecutive Director
liana@avenueroadartsschool.com

Kristina D’AngeloAssociate Director
kristina@avenueroadartsschool.com

Donna ChateauBusiness Manager
donna@avenueroadartsschool.com

Ryan BouletRegistrar & Student Services
ryan@avenueroadartsschool.com
James SimmondsBusiness Administrator
james@avenueroadartsschool.com

Melissa AllenAssistant Registrar & Student Services
melissa@avenueroadartsschool.com
Kaycee ChapmanOperations & Digital Communications
kaycee@avenueroadartsschool.com

This Could Be YouInterested in working at ARAS?
See our current job postings